Are Rice Cakes Gluten Free

Rice cakes can be a delicious way to eat rice, and many people, if not all people, enjoy them. Rice cakes are gluten-free, but other rice cakes can contain traces of wheat and gluten.

These products are not labeled gluten-free, so check the ingredients carefully if you’re vegan or have celiac disease.

Are Rice Cakes Gluten Free
Are Rice Cakes Gluten Free

Are Rice Cakes Gluten Free?

Rice cakes are generally considered gluten-free, but it’s important to check the specific brand and ingredients to be certain.

Traditional rice cakes, made from whole grains of rice, are naturally gluten-free. However, some flavored or seasoned rice cakes may contain ingredients that could potentially contain gluten.

What Is A Rice Cake?

A rice cake is a small bread typically made from cooked rice. This cooked rice can be steamed, toasted, or even cooked in almost any cooking method.

Rice cakes are often made with white rice and are moist and dense. There are many variations of the type of ingredients used in making a rice cake,

including but not limited to flour(s), glutinous flour(s), corn starch, powdered sugar, and non-glutinous starches (such as potato starch).

Are All Rice Cakes Gluten-Free?

Not all rice cakes are gluten-free. Many of the store-bought varieties contain wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients.

Many mixed rice cakes include flour as a thickening agent, while other recipes rely on wheat flour to produce a denser consistency.

Some commercial brands of rice cakes may also contain soy sauce or soy products. Soy sauce is not considered allergenic for people with lactose intolerance,

but people with severe allergies to soy should still be wary of consuming many commercial rice cakes.

How To Enjoy Gluten-Free Rice Cakes

Gluten-free rice cakes can be a snack or side dish to a healthy main dish. This food can make an excellent appetizer, especially if you want a lighter and quicker dessert.

If you’re vegan or have celiac disease, check all ingredients carefully, as many commercial brands include milk-based ingredients.

It is also recommended that you cook rice cakes at home, as they are much healthier when prepared with fresh ingredients and baked in your oven.


Are Caramel Rice Cakes Gluten-Free?

Although caramel rice cakes are gluten-free, they are often made with red food coloring and caramel flavoring and have a high level of fat (often made with butter).

Are Rice Cakes Gluten-Free Korean?

Some rice cakes that are labeled gluten-free are made with glutinous (sticky) rice flour and can contain a large amount of sugar.

Are Soy Rice Cakes Gluten-Free?

Some soy rice cakes may be made with wheat or contain wheat ingredients. Check the ingredients if you’re vegan or have celiac disease.

Can I Eat Rice Cakes Raw?

You can eat rice cakes raw if they are made with 100% cooked rice (not fried). Raw rice cakes are very hard and dense, unlike traditional bread or cookies.


Rice cakes are delicious, but not all rice cakes are gluten-free. These cakes can be found at some grocery stores, and wide varieties of rice cakes may contain trace amounts of wheat or soy.

Always check the ingredients if you’re vegan or have celiac disease.